News Item

Application deadline extended for this year's CIVITAS Awards


Towns and cities are invited to apply by the new date of 31 July 2019 to be in with a chance of winning Europe's most prestigious prizes for clean urban transport.

The Awards provide a unique platform for towns and cities to demonstrate their pioneering sustainable urban mobility activities. Winning towns and cities enjoy Europe-wide exposure of their work and become role models that inspire others to go for greener mobility. The Awards are open to all towns and cities that have signed the CIVITAS Declaration and are members of the CIVITAS Forum Network. If your town or city is not yet a Forum member, please complete and sign the <link https: cities external-link-new-window external link in new>CIVITAS Forum Declaration. Applicants can win prizes in four categories, with entries in multiple categories possible:
  • The “Bold Measure" award, which rewards a daring approach that has yet to be widely implemented and examples of ambition leading to successful outcomes;
  • The “Stakeholder Engagement” award, which rewards a city that has successfully engaged with relevant stakeholders (e.g. citizens, NGOs, and the private sector) to tackle a local urban mobility challenge;
  • The "CIVITAS Legacy" award, which rewards a town or city that has translated its commitment to the CIVITAS network and sustainable mobility into high-impact, innovative measures; and
  • The “Transformation” award, which rewards a town or city that has used mobility measures to transform itself into a smarter and more liveable environment.
The winner will be chosen by the CIVITAS Political Advisory Committee All application forms are available <link https: news civitas-awards-2019-application-deadline-extended-31-july external-link-new-window external link in new>here and on the main <link https: awards external-link-new-window external link in new>CIVITAS Awards page. Send your application form via e-mail to the following address, with “CIVITAS Award Category x” placed within the subject of your message: <link mail window for sending> The extended deadline for all applications is 31 July 2019. As is tradition, the CIVITAS Awards Ceremony will take place at the CIVITAS Forum. <link https: forum2019 external-link-new-window external link in new>This year's event is taking place in Graz, Austria, from 2-4 October 2019.

Related Projects


Further Information

Marcel Braun

+49 221 6060 55 20